Influencers: The Pritzker Architecture Prize

Carnegie Museum of Art
Exhibition Dates: 
May. 04, 2019 to Sep. 02, 2019

Since its establishment in 1979, the Pritzker Architecture Prize has become the most esteemed prize in architecture worldwide. Awarded to an architect for a total body of work, the Pritzker is frequently called the Nobel Prize for Architecture.

To mark the prize’s 40th anniversary, Raymund Ryan, curator of the Heinz Architectural Center at Carnegie Museum of Aty, presents work by Pritzker laureates from the museum’s collection. Bolstered by several recent acquisitions, these drawings, models, furniture, and photographs are exhibited in conjunction with the annual summer camp. This collaboration is meant to stimulate the imaginations of museum visitors and camp participants alike.


Image: Jean Nouvel, Office Building; Competition Entry, Berlin Centre of Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, 1990, Carnegie Museum of Art. Gift of the Drue Heinz Trust. Licensed by Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York/ADAGP, Paris.

4400 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh,, PA 15213
United States
Posted by Alyssum.Skjeie on March 4, 2019 - 12:58pm